"JOURNAL OF RADIO ELECTRONICS" (Zhurnal Radioelektroniki ISSN 1684-1719, N 5, 2017

contents             full textpdf   

Visualization of the microwave field intensity distribution with Schottky diode integrated microstrip rectenna

 

V. E. Lyubchenko, A. D. Baranov, E. O. Yunevich

Kotel'nikov Institute of Radio Engineering and Electronics RAS, Fryazino Brunch, Vvedensky Sq. 1, Fryazino Moscow region, 141120, Russia

The paper is received on April 28, 2017

 

Abstract. The indicator of microwave intensity, based on the log-periodic antenna, integrated with Schottky diode, amplifier and semiconductor light emitting diode (LED), is designed and experimentally investigated. The setup is a hybrid integrated circuit, in which the microstrip antenna at the dielectric substrate is used as a mechanical holder. Low-barrier Schottky diode BAT15-03W was used in the zero base voltage regime. The amplifier produced the output voltage, being enough for the LED operation. The sensitivity of indicator was evaluated from the measurement of microwave power flow at the output of the horn antenna with known power level from the microwave oscillator. Minimum microwave intensity, which was fixed with indicator, was 7 W/cm2. At the frequencies 10GHz and 30GHz the opportunity of the horn antenna radiation pattern as like as the intensity of the radiation, reflected from the different objects, was experimentally demonstrated. The latter offers an opportunity to use the setup for imaging of the objects, covered with materials, transparent for the microwaves and millimeter waves.

Key words: rectenna, Schottky diode, light emitting diode, microwave and millimeter wave imaging.

References

[1] Zbitou J., Latrach M., Toutain S. Hybrid rectenna and monolithic integrated zero-bias microwave rectifier, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, 2006, Vol. 54, . 1. pp. 147-152.

[2] Woolard D. L. et al. Terahertz frequency sensing and imaging: A time of reckoning future applications?, Proceedings of the IEEE, 2005, Vol. 93, . 10, pp. 1722-1743.

[3] Volkov L.V., Lyubchenko V.Ye., Tihomirov S.A. Two-Dimensional Arrays of Antenna-Coupled Schottky-Barrier Diodes for Forming Millimeter Wave Band Images, Journal of Communications Technology and Electronics, 1995, Vol. 40, 2, pp. 322-324.

 

For citation:

V. E. Lyubchenko, A. D. Baranov, E. O. Yunevich. Visualization of the microwave field intensity distribution with Schottky diode integrated microstrip rectenna. Zhurnal Radioelektroniki - Journal of Radio Electronics, 2017, No. 5. Available at http://jre.cplire.ru/jre/may17/6/text.pdf. (In Russian)

"ЖУРНАЛ РАДИОЭЛЕКТРОНИКИ" ISSN 1684-1719, N 5, 2017

оглавление              текст:   pdf   

УДК 621.382.32, 621.373

ВИЗУАЛИЗАЦИЯ РАСПРЕДЕЛЕНИЯ ИНТЕНСИВНОСТИ СВЧ ПОЛЯ С ПОМОЩЬЮ МИКРОПОЛОСКОВОЙ РЕКТЕННЫ С ДИОДОМ ШОТТКИ

 

В. Е. Любченко, А. Д. Баранов, Е. О. Юневич

Институт радиотехники и электроники им. В. А. Котельникова РАН, Фрязинский филиал, 141120, г. Фрязино Московской области, пл. Введенского 1

 

Статья поступила в редакцию 9 мая 2017 г.

 

Аннотация. Разработана и исследована конструкция индикатора интенсивности электромагнитного излучения СВЧ диапазона на основе антенно-связанного детектора (ректенны), усилителя и полупроводникового светодиода. Устройство представляет собой гибридную интегральную схему, в которой микрополосковая антенна логопериодического типа на диэлектрической подложке является и механическим носителем. В качестве детектора использовался диод BAT15-03W с пониженным барьером в режиме нулевого постоянного напряжения смещения. Усилитель выдавал напряжение, обеспечивающее срабатывание светодиода. Чувствительность индикатора по потоку мощности СВЧ излучения на частоте 10 ГГц измерялась в плоскости раскрыва рупорной антенны 3-см диапазона. Минимальная плотность потока мощности, при котором она фиксировалась светодиодом, равнялась 7мкВт/см2. Экспериментально на частотах 10 ГГц и 30 ГГц продемонстрирована возможность определения формы диаграммы направленности излучающей антенны, а также визуализации интенсивности излучения, отраженного от различных объектов. Последнее дает возможность использовать данное устройство в качестве портативного индикатора СВЧ излучения в системах визуализации (радиовидения) объектов, скрытых от визуального наблюдения покрытиями, непрозрачными для света, но прозрачными для радиоволн сантиметрового и миллиметрового диапазонов.

Ключевые слова: ректенна, диод Шоттки, светодиод, радиовидение.

Abstract. The indicator of microwave intensity, based on the log-periodic antenna, integrated with Schottky diode, amplifier and semiconductor light emitting diode (LED), is designed and experimentally investigated. The setup is a hybrid integrated circuit, in which the microstrip antenna at the dielectric substrate is used as a mechanical holder. Low-barrier Schottky diode BAT15-03W was used in the zero base voltage regime. The amplifier produced the output voltage, being enough for the LED operation. The sensitivity of indicator was evaluated from the measurement of microwave power flow at the output of the horn antenna with known power level from the microwave oscillator. Minimum microwave intensity, which was fixed with indicator, was 7 µW/cm2. At the frequencies 10GHz and 30GHz the opportunity of the horn antenna radiation pattern as like as the intensity of the radiation, reflected from the different objects, was experimentally demonstrated. The latter offers an opportunity to use the setup for imaging of the objects, covered with materials, transparent for the microwaves and millimeter waves.

Key words: rectenna, Schottky diode, light emitting diode, microwave and millimeter wave imaging.

 

Ссылка на статью:

В.Е.Любченко, А.Д.Баранов, Е.О.Юневич. Визуализация распределения интенсивности СВЧ-поля с помощью микрополосковой ректенны с диодом Шоттки. Журнал радиоэлектроники электронный журнал]. 2017. №5. Режим доступа: http://jre.cpl